• To serve Poland – to build Europe – to understand the world





    basic information


    Official name: Republic of Poland

    Population: 38,5 mill.
    Area: 312.679 km2
    Nationalities: 98 % Poles; Silesian, German, Belarussian, Ukrainian, Lithuanian minorities
    Capital: Warsaw (1,7 mill.)
    Biggest cities: Kraków (750.000), Łódź (737.000), Wrocław (633.000), Poznań (552.000), Gdańsk (457.000), Szczecin (406.000).
    Religion: 88 % are members of the Roman-Catholic Church; Orthodox, Protestant, Jewish and Muslim minorities
    Currency: złoty (PLN)

    Membership of international organizations: EU, UN, NATO, WTO, OECD, OSCE, Schengen Agreement, Visegrád Group, Council of the Baltic Sea States

    Number of regions (voivodeships): 16


    Official website of the Republic of Poland





    Head of State: President Andrzej Duda (since 6 August 2015)
    Prime Minister: Ewa Kopacz (PO)
    Foreign Minister: Grzegorz Schetyna (PO)


    Poland is a parliamentary democracy with a president as head of state. The government is led by a prime minister. The current constitution dates back to 1997. The legislative power is exercised by a bicameral parliament consisting of a 460-member lower house (Sejm) and a 100-member upper house (Senat). Both chambers are directly elected by the voters.


    Result of the latest election to the Sejm (October 2011, number of seats):
    Civic Platform (PO): 207
    Law and Justice (PiS): 157
    Palikot’s Movement: 40
    Polish People’s Party (PSL): 28
    Democratic Left Alliance (SLD): 27
    German Minority: 1


    The current government is a coalition between Civic Platform (PO) and Polish People’s Party (PSL) with Ewa Kopacz (PO) as Prime Minister since 22 September 2014.



    The Polish Parliament (in English)
    The Polish President (in English)
    The Prime Minister’s Office (in English)

    Print Print Share: